Planning Department - Board of Adjustment

Planning Dept. Home Subdivision Regulations Zoning & Development Regulations Permits & Applications
Handouts & Forms Exemption from Subdivision Growth Policy Floodplain Administration
 Projects GIS Services Road Standards Superfund
Planning Board Board of Adjustment Arrowstone Park Board  

The Powell County Board of Adjustment meets annually on the third Thursday in January at 1 p.m. at Wm K. Kohrs Memorial Library, 501 Missouri Ave., Deer Lodge. The board holds special meetings throughout the year as needed. Meetings will be posted at least 48 hours in advance.

Board Members:
Shane Olsen (term ends 12-31-2019)
Jim Decker (term ends 12-31-2018)
Tom Gilbert (term ends 12/31/2018)
Pat Riehl (term ends 12/31/2018)
David Mannix (term ends 12/31/2018)


All agenda items for either the Board of Adjustment or Planning Board must be submitted to the Planning Department at least four weeks before the hearing date.  To ensure the request is applicable, the Department requires the petitioners schedule pre-submittal meetings to present their application materials to staff.  Staff then prepares the agenda and individual reports for distribution to the Board of Adjustment and/or Planning Board one week before the hearing.  The public may obtain the application materials and staff reports for any hearing via the links found on this page or contacting staff.  

The Planning Department requires a two week notice to place items on the County Commissioner’s agenda.  

Approved Minutes:

March 2018

January 27, 2017

September 11, 2017

Prior Board minutes are available from the Powell County Planning Department


409 Missouri Ave., Suite 101
Deer Lodge, MT 59722

(406) 846-9795
(406) 846-2784 fax


     Carl Hamming – Planning Director and Floodplain Administrator
            phone:  (406)846-9729