MONTANA CLEAN INDOOR AIR ACT
IMPLEMENTATION PROTOCOL FOR POWELL COUNTY

Tobacco use is the leading preventable cause of death in the United States. In Montana over 1,600
people die each year from tobacco use. For each death, at least 30 more suffer from serious smoke-related
illness. Such as cancer, heart disease, stroke, lung diseases diabetes, and chronic obstructive pulmonary
disease (COPD), which includes emphysema and chronic bronchitis.

Powell County Board of Health recognizes the importance of tobacco control and,
By enacting the “Montana Clean Indoor Air Act (Act)” the legislature declared its intent:

(1) To protect the public health and welfare by prohibiting smoking in public places and places
of employment.

(2) To recognize the right of nonsmokers to breathe smoke-free air, and

(3) To recognize that the need to breathe smoke-free air has priority over the desire to smoke or
the act of smoking.

In is unlawful to smoke in an enclosed public place.
It is unlawful for the proprietor or manager of an establishment containing an enclosed public
place not to post signs in conspicuous places at all public entrances to the establishment stating, in a

manner that can be easily read and understood, that smoking in the enclosed public place is prohibited.

It is unlawful for the proprietor or manager of a non-chartered intrastate bus to allow smoking in
all parts of the bus.

It is unlawful for a person who owns, manages, operates, or otherwise controls a place of work or
an enclosed public place to allow smoking in the place of work or enclosed public place.

Reasonable Distance: Smoking may not occur with a reasonable distance of an enclosed public place
such that tobacco smoke may enter through its entrances, windows, ventilation systems or other accesses

and circulate to non-smoking areas.

The smoking prohibition and the requirement to post signs does not apply to the following
enclosed public places:

(1) a private residence or personal living quarters of an individual, unless it is used as:
(a) a family day-care or group day-c:are home
(b) an adult foster care home
(¢) a health facility; or
(d) a place of work for other that the individual

(2) a private motor vehicle not serving as a place of work for other than the owner of the motor
vehicle.



(3) A hotel or motel room designated as a smoking room and rented to a guest and not serving as
a place of work for other than the guest. Hotel/motels may establish up to 35% of guest room
as designated smoking.

The Powell County Board of Health (Board) shall enforce the Act.

A person may file an anonymous complaint with the Montana Department of Public Health and
Human Services (Department) or the Powell County Board of Health (Board).

A person may file a signed written complaint with the Department or the Board.

When a complaint is filed, the Board shall conduct an investigation and keep record of its
findings. A written complaint is proof of a violation unless the investigation conclusively shows
otherwise. An anonymous is evidence of a violation only if it substantiated or corroborated by the
investigation, upon a third violation within three years; or upon a single violation within three years
subsequent to a conviction, the Board shall forward its file to the Powell County Attorney for prosecution.

A person is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine of not less than $25.00 or more
than $100.00 if the person smokes in any area where smoking is prohibited.

A person is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine of not less than $10.00 or more
than $500.00 if the person owns, manages, operates, or otherwise controls an enclosed public place or an
enclosed place of employment/work, and either '

(1) Allows or fails to prohibit smoking in the enclosed public place or the enclosed place of
employment/work, or ‘

(2) Fails to post a “smoking prohibited” sign at all public entrances of an enclosed public place.
On a first conviction the person shall be punished by a fine of $100.00 on the second conviction
the person shall be punished by a fine of $200.00. On the third or any subsequent convictions the person

shall be punished by a fine of $500.00 per conviction. A conviction may not occur unless:

(a) There is proof that the person received a warning and/or written reprimand for at
least two other violations occurring prior to be within 3 years of the third violation; or

(b) There is a prior conviction within 3 years of the violation.

Within the Act, the following definitions apply;

(1) “Board” means the Powell County Board of Health and its designees (Powell County Public
Health Department and its designee Powell County Tobacco Use Prevention Program).

(2) “Cigarette” includes an electronic device, including but not limited to “Electronic cigarettes”
that can deliver inhaled doses of nicotine by delivering a vaporized solution.

(3) “Department” means the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Service.

(4) “Enclosed public place” means an indoor area, room, or vehicle that:



(a) The general public is allowed to enter, or

(b) Serves as a “place of work”

An “enclosed public space” means an area with:

(a) A roofand

(b) A wall on all sides reaching from floor to ceiling, exclusive of windows and doors.

An “enclosed public place” does not include and area completely open or “partially open to
the outside air”. “Partially open” means the complete absence of at least two

adjoining/adjacent walls or the complete absence of at least two opposite walls.

The terms “roof” and “wall” apply to a temporary building or any other structure such as a
tent.

The terms “roof” and “wall” apply to a temporary structures including awnings or tents.

(5) “Establishment” means an enterprise under one roof that serves the public and for which a
single person, agency, corporation, or legal entity is responsible.

(6) “Person” means and individual, partnership, corporation, association, political subdivision, or
other entity.

(7) “Smoke” means:

(a) The gaseous products (which carry airborne toxic particles) of burning tobacco or
something similar to tobacco.

(b) The fumes and/or vapor (which carry airborne toxic particles) resulting from the action of
heat on liquid such as occurs in an e-cigarette.

(8) “Smoking” or “to smoke” includes inhaling and exhaling the fumes of tobacco or a derivative
of tobacco or the act of lighting, smoking, or carrying a lighted cigar, cigarette, pipe, e-
cigarette, or any smokable product.

(9) “Violation” means:

(a) Smoking in an enclosed public place

(b) Failing to post signs prohibiting smoking in an establishment

(c) Allowing smoking in an establishment, or place of work, or an enclosed public place.
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