## PRO SE PARENTING PLAN – CONTESTED – Clerk's Checklist - 2018 Forms

- If your county's Clerk of Court does not have the forms, then the forms must come from the Self-Help Law Representative or from the Montana Law Library Website at <a href="http://courts.mt.gov/forms">http://courts.mt.gov/forms</a> or you can use online interactive forms here: <a href="https://www.montanalawhelp.org/self-help-forms">https://www.montanalawhelp.org/self-help-forms</a>
- We are the Montana THIRD Judicial District Court, POWELL County
- PLEASE read all directions attached to packet. You may need to make extra copies of some of the documents (such as Parenting Plan)
- The filing fee for a parenting plan is \$120.00
  - o If you feel you qualify for waiving the fees, please ask the Clerk of Court's Office for the paperwork, which must be returned to us for the Judge's approval prior to filing your forms
- Confidentiality Issue: Every document you file with the Clerk of Court is public information, so
  - o Use only the Birth Year and Initials for all minor children.
  - Use only the last four digits for any Social Security Numbers; VIN Numbers and all Account Numbers.
- Sign all forms and have notarized if required. Make sure you have all pages for each form and each page is filled out COMPLETELY.
  - Please keep all documents in order.
- Initial documents (refer to the packet check list below) must be served on opposing party.
  - All other filings must include a Certificate of Service stating that you have delivered (mailed) this document to the opposing party.
- At your hearing, make sure you have your \$45.00 Judgment Fee if you do not have a fee waiver.

## **INITIAL DOCUMENTS**

1. <b>Petition for Parenting Plan (MP 114)</b> <u>4 copies total</u> – original to Court, a copy to each party, & one to CSED
2. Petitioner's Proposed Parenting Plan (MP 300) 4 copies total – original to Court, a copy to each party,
& one to CSED (attach Child Support Calculations to this document – see page 11 of Parenting Plan)
3. Summons (MP 414) 3 copies total – Use with Request for Sheriff to Serve Documents (MP 401.30) – return the original to Court, and copy for each party
4. Notice and Acknowledgment to Deputy Attorney General with the Child Support Enforcement
<b>Division (MP 404):</b> 1 copy - send this document with a copy of the Petition and Proposed Parenting Plan to Child
Support Enforcement Division; 17 W. Galina; Butte, MT 59701 - file this document in our office once returned
from them with a signature.

## **SERVICE DOCUMENTS**

5. <b>Request for Sheriff to Serve Documents (MP 401.30):</b> (give this to the Sheriff in the county where the other party lives. Include the original Summons, a copy of the summons, and the documents listed on this)
OR
5. Notice and Request for Acknowledgment of Service of Summons and Petition for Parenting Plan for
$\textbf{Minor Children (MP-403.14)} \ \underline{3} \ \underline{copies \ total} \ (\textbf{Used only if other party will accept the Initial documents without} \ \underline{3} \ \underline{copies \ total} \ \underline{3} \ \underline{3} \ \underline{5} \ $
being served by the Sheriff or process server.)
a. Send to the other party along with the document titled <b>Acknowledgment of Service of Summons</b>
and Petition for Parenting Plan for Minor Children (MP-403.24). File the original Acknowledgment with the Court once the other party signs it.)
OR .
5. Request for Order Granting Service by Publication (MP-402.1) NOT INCLUDED IN PACKET: 2 copies total (used after service has been attempted and unsuccessful, you must file the ORIGINAL Summons and Proof of Non-Service with the Court before filing this.) Also turn in these documents with the Request:
a. Order for Service of Summons by Publication (MP-402.2)
b. Summons for Publication (MP-402.3)
FINAL DOCUMENTS
6. Request for Hearing and Default by Clerk (MP 721) 2 copies total – original to Court and a copy for you
(Used only if the Respondent does not file an answer after 21 days of proof of service)
7. Court Order on Hearing for Parenting Plan (MP 722) – 1 copy
8. <b>Court Ordered Parenting Plan (MP 300)</b> <u>3 copies total</u> , Original for Court and one for each party, we will certify your copies after the final hearing
9. <b>Montana State Case Registry and Vital Statistics</b> (Hand in early, filled out and signed. We must send this to Helena after your final hearing.)

## ONLINE CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATOR WEBSITE: www.MontanalawHelp.org

Go to FAMILY & KIDS > then CHILD SUPPORT> then MONTANA ONLINE CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATOR > then click link to MONTANA CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATOR (it's towards the bottom)