PRO SE JOINT DISSOLUTION – WITH CHILDREN – Clerk's Checklist - 2018

- If your county's Clerk of Court does not have the forms, then the forms must come from the Self-Help Law Representative or from the Montana Law Library Website at <u>http://courts.mt.gov/forms</u> or you can use online interactive forms here: <u>https://www.montanalawhelp.org/self-help-forms</u>
- We are the Montana THIRD Judicial District Court, POWELL County
- PLEASE read all directions attached to packet. You may need to make extra copies of some of the documents (such as Parenting Plan, Declaration of Disclosure of Assets, Debts, etc.)
- The filing fee for a dissolution is \$200.00
 - If you feel you qualify for waiving the fees, please ask the Clerk of Court's Office for the paperwork, which must be returned to us for the Judge's approval prior to filing your forms
- Confidentiality Issue: Every document you file with the Clerk of Court is public information, so
 - Use only the <u>Birth Year and Initials</u> for all minor children.
 - Use only the last four digits for any Social Security Numbers; VIN Numbers and all Account Numbers.

- Sign all forms and have notarized if required. Make sure you have all pages for each form and each page is filled out COMPLETELY. Please keep all documents in order.
- At your hearing, make sure you have your \$45.00 Judgment Fee if you do not have a fee waiver.

Documents needed for your case:

1. Joint Petition for Dissolution of Marriage with Parenting Plan for Minor Children

(Form MP-116) – 4 copies total – original to Court, a copy to each party, one to CSED

2. Agreed Parenting Plan (Form MP-300) – 5 copies total – original to Court plus one copy

to be signed at the final hearing, a copy to each party, & one to CSED (attach Child Support

Calculations to this document - see page 11 of Parenting Plan)

_____3. Agreed Property Distribution (Form MP–500) - <u>Must</u> include Retirement, 401K, etc. (<u>3</u> <u>copies</u> – Original to Court, and copy to each party)

_____4. **Co-Petitioner Disclosure of Income and Expenses (Form MP-510)** <u>Each party must fill</u> <u>out their own</u>, so make a copy of the blank document before filling out (<u>3 copies</u> – original to Court, and copy to each party)

_____5. Notice and Acknowledgment to Deputy Attorney General with the Child Support Enforcement Division (Form MP-404) <u>1 copy</u> - send this document with a copy of the Petition and Parenting Plan to Child Support Enforcement Division; 17 W. Galina; Butte, MT 59701 - file this document in our office once returned from them with a signature

_____6. **Consent to Entry of Decree (Form MP-730)**– (not needed if both parties will attend the final hearing, filled out by the party not attending the hearing) <u>3 copies</u> – Original to Court, and copy to each party

_____7. Request for Hearing (Form MP-701) (submit with Court Order on Hearing for Dissolution with Minor Children – (Form MP-702))

8. **Dissolution Decree With Minor Children (Form MP-703)** <u>MUST</u> match Petition! You fill in page 1; as much as you can on Child Support (pages 2-4); and as much as you can on the Findings of Fact (pages 5-8) Submit this with your Request for Hearing for the Judge to review. This is what the Judge will sign at the hearing, you will receive 2 certified copies at no charge after the hearing. Extra certified copies are \$12.00 each or if you provide the copies, then \$2.00 per certification

9. Notice of Entry of Decree (Form MP-704) (not needed if both parties attend the final hearing) 3 copies – original to Court, one for each party - sent to the party that did not attend the hearing with a certified copy of the decree and parenting plan

__10. Montana State Case Registry and Vital Statistics - Hand in early, filled out and signed

ONLINE CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATOR WEBSITE: <u>www.MontanaLawHelp.org</u> Go to FAMILY & KIDS > then CHILD SUPPORT> then MONTANA ONLINE CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATOR > then click link to MONTANA CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATOR (it's towards the bottom)