
 

Frequently Asked Questions concerning Jury Duty 
 

Who is eligible to serve as a juror?  
Citizens 18 years of age or older, who are residents for at least 30 days of the state and of the city, 

town or county in which they are called for jury duty, and who are citizens of the United States are 

eligible for jury service. Jurors are selected from a combined list of registered voters, licensed drivers 

and holders of Montana ID cards.  

 

Jurors are drawn using the Full Court Jury software that is administered by the Montana Supreme 

Court Administrators office. Each year in May, a pool of Powell County residents are notified that 

they are in the District Court juror pool through the following June. From that pool, potential trial 

jurors are drawn for each trial throughout the year. The jury service term commences July 1 and ends 

June 30 each year.  

 

What happens if I ignore my summons for jury service?  
A jury summons is a court order. If you ignore it, you are subject to arrest and sanctions.  

 

Will I serve on a jury if called for trial?  
Maybe. Sometimes cases are settled before trial date. If so, you will be notified. Also, extra people 

are called to allow for persons who cannot serve on a particular case.  

 

How long do most trials take?  
Trials typically last from one to three days. On occasion, they might last longer.  

 

Can my employer tell me not to serve?  
No. The law requires employers to allow an employee to serve as a juror. The law also prohibits an 

employer from depriving an employee of benefits because of jury service, such as requiring you to 

use vacation or personal time to serve.  

 

Is my employer required to pay me while I serve as a juror?  
If you work for the government, your employer must pay you. If you work in the private sector, your 

employer is not required to pay you. 

Will I be paid for serving as a juror?  
Yes. You will receive $12.00 for reporting for jury duty plus mileage. If you serve on a jury, you will 

receive an additional $13.00 the first day and $25.00 per day thereafter plus mileage.  

 

What if I am disabled?  
If you have a disability, please contact the Clerk of District Court in advance of the trial date so that 

your needs can be accommodated. 


