PRO SE CONTESTED DISSOLUTION — NO CHILDREN - Checklist

e The forms must come from the Self-Help Law Representative or from the Montana Law Library Website at
http://courts.mt.gov/forms or call to have them mailed to you (or make an appointment) at (406) 444-9300 or you can

use online interactive forms here: https://www.montanalawhelp.org/self-help-forms

e Please read all directions attached to packet
e The filing fee for a dissolution is $200.00
0 Ifyou feel you qualify for waiving the fees, please ask the Clerk of Court’s Office for the paperwork, which must
be returned to us for the Judge’s approval prior to opening your case
e Confidentiality Issue: Every document you file with the Clerk of Court is public information, so use only the last four

digits for any Social Security Numbers; VIN Numbers and all Account Numbers.

e Sign all forms and have notarized if required. Make sure you have all pages for each for, that they are in order and
each page is filled out completely. We are Montana THIRD Judicial District Court, POWELL County

e At your hearing, make sure you have your $50.00 Judgment Fee if you do not have a fee waiver.

e Initial documents listed below must be served on opposing party. All later filings must include a Certificate of Service
stating that you have delivered (mailed) the document to the opposing party.

INITIAL DOCUMENTS

1. Petition for Dissolution without Children (MP-112) - 3 copies total — original to Court, and copy for each
party

2. Petitioner Proposed Property Distribution (MP-500) — 3 copies total — original to Court, and copy for
each party

3. Petitioner Disclosure of Income and Expenses (MP-510): 2-3 copies total — original to Court (IF you choose

to file this with us, it isn’t required, but you do need to send a copy to the other party) and copy for each party (Must
include Retirement, 401K, etc.)
4. Summons and Temporary Economic Restraining Order by Clerk of Court (MP-412) - 3 copies total (Use with

Request for Sheriff to Serve Documents - original to return to Court, and copy for each party)

SERVICE DOCUMENTS (3 options)

5. Request for Sheriff to Serve Documents (MP-401.12) (give this to the Sheriff in the county where the
other party lives. Include the original Summons, a copy of the summons, and the documents listed on this)
OR
5. Acknowledgment of Service of Summons and Petition for Dissolution of Marriage (MP-403.22) 3
copies total (Used only if other party will accept the Initial documents without being served by the Sheriff or
process server.)
____a.Sendtothe other party along with the document titled Notice and Request for Acknowledgment
of Service of Summons and Petition for Dissolution of Marriage (MP-403.12). File the original
Acknowledgment with the Court once the other party signs it.)
OR

5. Request for Order Granting Service by Publication (MP-402.12): 2 copies total (used after service has
been attempted and unsuccessful, you must file the ORIGINAL Summons and Proof of Non-Service with the
Court before filing this.) Also turn in these documents with the Request:


http://courts.mt.gov/forms
https://www.montanalawhelp.org/self-help-forms

a. Order for Service of Summons by Publication (MP-402.22)

b. Summons for Publication (MP-402.32)

FINAL DOCUMENTS

______6.Request for Hearing and Default by Clerk (MP-701) - 2 copies total — original to Court and a copy for
you

7. Court Order on Hearing for Dissolution Without Minor Children (MP-714)

______8.Final Dissolution Decree No Minor Children Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law (MP-713) MUST

match Petition! You fill in numbers 1, 2, 3,8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14 and on page 5 #5, 6, 8) Submit this with the Request
for hearing. This is what the Judge will sign at the hearing. You will receive 2 certified copies at no charge after

the hearing. Extra certified copies are $12.00 each or if you provide the copies, then $2.00 per certification.

9. Notice of Entry of Decree (MP-704) - 3 copies — original to Court, one for each party - sent to the
Respondent with a certified copy of the decree

10. Montana State Case Registry and Vital Statistics Reporting Form - Hand in early, filled out and
signed.



