PRO SE DISSOLUTION - CONTESTED - WITH CHILDREN - Clerk's Checklist

- The forms must come from the Self-Help Law Representative or from the Montana Law Library Website at http://courts.mt.gov/forms or call to have them mailed to you (or make an appointment) at (406) 444-9300 or you can use online interactive forms here: https://www.montanalawhelp.org/self-help-forms
- Please read all directions attached to the packet.
- The filing fee for a dissolution is \$200.00
 - o If you feel you qualify for waiving the fees, please ask the Clerk of Court's Office for the paperwork, which must be returned to us for the Judge's approval prior to opening your case.
- Confidentiality Issue: Every document you file with the Clerk of Court is public information, so use only the last four digits for any Social Security Numbers; VIN Numbers and all Account Numbers. Use only the Birth Year and Initials for all minor children.
- Contact Child Support Services Division at (406) 497-6600 about child support or try this link: <u>Free Online Civil</u>
 Court Forms for Montana (Complete List) | Montana Lawhelp
- Sign all forms and have notarized if required. Make sure you have all pages for each for, that they are in order and each page is filled out completely. We are Montana THIRD Judicial District Court, POWELL County
- At your hearing, make sure you have your \$50.00 Judgment Fee if you do not have a fee waiver.
- Initial documents (refer to the packet check list below) must be served on opposing party.
 - o All other filings must include a Certificate of Service stating that you have delivered (mailed) this document to the opposing party.

INITIAL DOCUMENTS

1. Detition for Dissolution of Manuface with Devention Dien for Miner Children (MD 112). A conjectated	ا مانداد ما
$_$ 1. Petition for Dissolution of Marriage with Parenting Plan for Minor Children (MP 113) $\underline{4 \text{ copies total}}$ – to Court, a copy to each party, & one to CSSD	originai
2. Petitioner's Proposed Parenting Plan (MP 300) 4 copies total – original to Court, a copy to each party, 8	k one
to CSED (attach Child Support Calculations to this document – see page 11 of Parenting Plan)	
3. Petitioner Proposed Property Distribution (MP-500) 3 copies total – original to Court, and copy for each	:h party
(<u>Must</u> include Retirement, 401K, etc.)	
4. Petitioner Disclosure of Income and Expenses (MP-510) IF you choose to file this document with the Cothen 3 copies total. If you choose not to file this document with the Court, then 2 copies total – one for you and for the other party. (Must include Retirement, 401K, etc.)	
5. Summons and Temporary Economic Restraining Order by Clerk of Court (MP 400) 3 copies total – Use	with
Request for Sheriff to Serve Documents (MP 401) – return the original to Court, and copy for each party	
6. Notice and Acknowledgment to Deputy Attorney General with the Child Support Services Division (M 1 copy - send this document with a copy of the Petition and Proposed Parenting Plan to Child Support Services D 2401 Colonial Dr.; PO Box 202943; Helena, MT 59620 - file this document in our office once returned from then signature.	ivision;

SERVICE DOCUMENTS (3 Options)

7. Request for Sheriff to Serve Documents (MP 401): (give this to the Sheriff in the county where the other
party lives. Include the original Summons, a copy of the summons, and the documents listed on this) OR
7. Acknowledgment of Service of Summons and Petition for Dissolution of Marriage (MP-403.2) 3 copies total
(Used only if other party will accept the Initial documents without being served by the Sheriff or process server.)
a. Send to the other party along with the document titled Notice and Request for Acknowledgment of
Service of Summons and Petition for Dissolution of Marriage (MP-403.1). File the original Acknowledgment
with the Court once the other party signs it.)
7. Request for Order Granting Service by Publication (MP-402.1): 2 copies total (used after service has been
attempted and unsuccessful, you must file the ORIGINAL Summons and Proof of Non-Service with the Court before filing this.) Also turn in these documents with the Request:
a. Order for Service of Summons by Publication (MP-402.2)
b. Summons for Publication (MP-402.3)
FINAL DOCUMENTS
8. Request for Hearing and Default by Clerk (MP 701) 2 copies total – original to Court and a copy for you
(Used only if the Respondent does not file an answer after 21 days of proof of service)
9. Court Order on Hearing for Dissolution with Minor Children (MP 702) – 1 copy
10. Dissolution Decree With Minor Children (MP-703) 1 copy. MUST match Petition! You fill in page 1; as much
as you can on Child Support (pages 2-4); and as much as you can on the Findings of Fact (pages 5-8) Submit this with
your Request for Hearing for the Judge to review. This is what the Judge will sign at the hearing, you will receive 2 certified copies at no charge after the hearing. Extra certified copies are \$12.00 each or if you provide the copies, then
\$2.00 per certification
11. Court Ordered Parenting Plan (MP 300) 3 copies total, Original for Court and one for each party, we will
certify your copies after the final hearing
12. Notice of Entry of Decree (MP 704) - 3 copies – original to Court, one for each party – you must mail one to
the Respondent with a certified copy of the decree and parenting plan
13. Montana State Case Registry and Vital Statistics (Hand in early, filled out and signed. We must send this to
Helena after your final hearing.)