PRO SE JOINT DISSOLUTION – WITH CHILDREN – Clerk's Checklist

- The forms must come from the Self-Help Law Representative or from the Montana Law Library Website at http://courts.mt.gov/forms or call to have them mailed to you (or make an appointment) at (406) 444-9300 or you can use online interactive forms here: https://www.montanalawhelp.org/self-help-forms
- Please read all directions attached to the packet.
- The filing fee for a dissolution is \$200.00
 - o If you feel you qualify for waiving the fees, please ask the Clerk of Court's Office for the paperwork, which must be returned to us for the Judge's approval prior to opening your case.
- Confidentiality Issue: Every document you file with the Clerk of Court is public information, so use only the last four digits for any Social Security Numbers; VIN Numbers and all Account Numbers. Use only the Birth Year and Initials for all minor children.
- Contact Child Support Services Division at (406) 497-6600 about child support or try this link: <u>Free Online Civil Court</u>
 Forms for Montana (Complete List) | Montana Lawhelp
- Sign all forms and have notarized if required. Make sure you have all pages for each for, that they are in order and each page is filled out completely. We are Montana THIRD Judicial District Court, POWELL County

1. Joint Petition for Dissolution of Marriage with Parenting Plan for Minor Children (Form MP-116) – 4

At your hearing, make sure you have your \$50.00 Judgment Fee if you do not have a fee waiver.

Documents needed for your case:

copies total – original to Court, a copy to each party, one to CSSD
2. Agreed Parenting Plan (Form MP-300) – 5 copies total – original to Court plus one copy to be signed at
the final hearing, a copy to each party, & one to CSSD (attach Child Support Calculations to this document – see
page 11 of Parenting Plan)
3. Agreed Property Distribution (Form MP-500) - Must include Retirement, 401K, etc. (3 copies –
Original to Court, and copy to each party)
4. Co-Petitioner Disclosure of Income and Expenses (Form MP-510) (3 copies <u>IF</u> you choose to file this with us, it isn't required, but you do need to give a copy to the other party (<u>Must</u> include Retirement, 401K, etc.)
5. Notice and Acknowledgment to Deputy Attorney General with the Child Support Enforcement Division (Form MP-404) 1 copy - send this document with a copy of the Petition and Parenting Plan to Child Support Services Division; 2401 Colonial Dr.; PO Box 202943; Helena, MT 59620 - file this document in our office once returned from them with a signature.
6. Consent to Entry of Decree (Form MP-730)— (not needed if both parties will attend the final hearing if there is one – it is filled out by the party not attending the hearing) <u>3 copies</u> – Original to Court, and copy to each party
7. Request for Hearing (Form MP-701) (submit with Court Order on Hearing for Dissolution with Minor Children – (Form MP-702)) OR Affidavit for Entry of Decree for Dissolution of Marriage without Hearing -both parties must sign in front of a notary.

8. Dissolution Decree With Minor Children (Form MP-703) <u>MUST</u> match Petition! You fill in page 1; as much as you can on Child Support (pages 2-4); and as much as you can on the Findings of Fact (pages 5-8) Submit this with your Request for Hearing for the Judge to review. This is what the Judge will sign at the hearing, you will receive 2 certified copies at no charge after the hearing. Extra certified copies are \$12.00 each or if you provide the copies, then \$2.00 per certification.
9. Notice of Entry of Decree (Form MP-704) (not needed if both parties attend the final hearing if there us one) 3 copies – original to Court, one for each party - sent to the party that did not attend the hearing with a certified copy of the decree and parenting plan.
10. Montana State Case Registry and Vital Statistics - Hand in early, filled out and signed.