313 Fourth St.
Deer Lodge, MT 59722
Emergency: Dial 911
Non-emergency: (406) 846-1650
(406) 846-2742 fax
Gavin Roselles – Sheriff
Powell County Sheriff’s Office – Mission Statement
The Powell County Sheriff’s Office is committed to a partnership with residents and visitors to Powell County. We pride ourselves with our dedication to integrity, professionalism, and community interaction for the betterment of all. We respect the rights and individuality of all people. We are unwavering in the pursuit to enhance the quality of life in our communities.
To Add Money to an Inmate’s Commissary Account
Please Mail in a Money Order addressed to the inmate.
Or bring in cash, check, or money order to the Powell County Sheriff’s Office
Inmate’s First & Last Name
313 4th street
Deer Lodge MT. 59722
To Video Visit with an Inmate
Use the Kiosk in the Powell County Sheriff’s Office lobby. Visiting on Sunday from 9AM until 3PM.
Voice and Video call and Text Messaging are Available!
https://www.reliancetelephone.com/ offers fast easy ways to deposit money into an inmate’s account. The Inmate telephone services are provided by Reliance Telephone Services. Please see their website for more information
24/7 Sobriety Program
TESTING: Participants are required to accomplish two PBTs daily, once in the morning and once in the evening. (unless otherwise ordered by the court)
FAILED 1st PBT TESTING: Participants will be required to remain for 20 minutes, and then the participants will be required to be re-tested on the Intox 8000, by a certified Intox 8000 operator.
HOURS: 7 days/week, 365 days a year
Morning tests: 7:00 – 9:00 a.m.
Evening tests: 7:00 – 9:00 p.m.
COSTS: $2.00 per PBT (personal check or cash only)
You are required to pay in advance, or at the time of testing, for the PBT. Failure to pay will be considered a violation of your bond condition, and you may be arrested.
MISSING A TEST: A No-Show during your designated testing hours is a violation of the 24/7 Sobriety Program.
If you miss a test, you will be arrested.
If the PBT and the Intox 8000 indicates the presence of alcohol, you will be arrested.
The primary responsibility for our Civil personnel is the execution of civil processes and mandates of the court. This is accomplished through the service of income and property executions, notices and a variety of other civil/criminal summonses, processes, and complaints.
Civil process services must be done in strict compliance with Montana Code . Timelines and accuracy in the service of legal documents, record keeping and returns to the Court are mandated by law. The service of Civil process is a primary responsibility of the Sheriff as defined in the Montana Code.
The Powell County Sheriff’s Office administrative assistant oversees all civil processes. Please send all relevant paperwork to email@example.com or bring to the Powell County Sheriff’s Office.
All servable paperwork for the Montana State Prison will be served every Thursday.
All protection orders are free to serve.
All other civil paperwork costs $70 per person being served per case. Unless you have the fee waiver from the courts, please make sure it is included in the paperwork.
Civil Division (406)846-2711
Hours of operation: 8:00 am – 3:00 pm, Monday through Friday, not including holidays.
Located at 313 4th Street Deer Lodge MT 59722.
Powell County Sheriff’s Office
Attn: Civil Division
313 4th Street
Deer Lodge MT. 59722
To submit documents for service:
IT IS REQUIRED THAT YOU SUBMIT A COMPLETED, SIGNED, DATED PRAECIPE (or Letter of Instruction) WITH YOUR DOCUMENTS FOR SERVICE (please see the forms link below) that includes as much information as you can provide about the person(s) to be served, i.e.: full name, physical description, date of birth, SSN/FEIN, complete address, all phone numbers, what make/model/year/color of their vehicle, employer’s name/ address/ phone number(s), name(s) of any other person(s) who they may associate with and their contact information (such as a family member or friend), any other place(s) the subject may frequent, and any other information you think may be helpful to us in locating the subject. Please list exactly which documents we are to serve – list the title of each document. If you need to include additional pages with your Praecipe please do so. Your signature and a date must be on the Praecipe authorizing our office to proceed with service.
(25-3-203, M.C.A.. Prepayment of cost of service.
To process your request we will need:
2) complete sets of the copies or documents for each person you want served
3) the completed, signed, dated Praecipe or Letter of Instruction (and CLEI if a protection order)
4) pre-payment in full for service fees OR a copy of a Montana court order waiving your fees for service
Our officers make every effort to complete service; however, acceptance of your documents for service is in no way to be considered a guarantee that service can be completed. Please be advised that once your documents have been received and processed and/or any service attempts have been made, all service fees paid are non-refundable. Please contact us with any questions you may have.
Concealed Weapons Permits
You must complete this application in full and return it to the Powell County Sheriff’s Office, 911 center. You must sign the application in the presence of the Sheriff of his designee’s.
Law requires a full criminal history background check is made on the applicant; this criminal history background check may take five (5) days to complete. After five (5) days have passed, please contact the Powell County Sheriff’s Office, 911 center to determine if your application has been approved or denied. Please use the non-emergency line at 406-846-2711.
Payment is required at the time of turning in the application. Fees are as followed.
New permit: $55
The Sheriff’s Office accepts cash or check, if you are paying with a credit card you will need to pay at the Treasurer’s Office in the Court House and return your receipt to the dispatcher. If your application is denied your money will be refunded.
Please use the link to print and complete the application. Bring the application to the Powell County Sheriff’s Office at 313 4th Street, Deer Lodge.
Weapons – Montana Code Annotated links for information
45-8-321. Permit to carry concealed weapon.
MCA 45-8-316 Carrying concealed weapons.
45-8-318. Possession of deadly weapon by prisoner or youth in facility.
45-8-327. Carrying concealed weapon while under influence.
45-8-328. Carrying concealed weapon in prohibited place — penalty.
We do fingerprints at the Powell County Sheriff’s Office Monday thru Friday 9am to 3pm. You need to call ahead to ensure the detention officer is available.
You must provide identification.
We do electronic fingerprints by Live Scan.
If you need fingerprints for employment in Powell County, there is no fee. If you need it for employment outside of Powell County the fee is $10 per card.
The book and release process is also free, please bring the paperwork from the courts.
The Powell County Sheriff’s Reserve Deputy Association is a volunteer non-profit organization charged with the responsibility for the protection of property and enforcement of the law while we support and supplement the full-time deputies.
We are looking for someone willing to serve the community and Powell County.
The application to become a reserve deputy is the same as the deputy application.
Please use the provided link to apply for a career within the Powell County Sheriff’s Office.
Sexual and Violet Offenders
Criminal Record/Background checks can be obtained through the Department of Justice in Helena. The address is:
P.O. Box 201408
They can be reached at 406-444-3625.
Incident and Case Report Request
Initial Incident reports can be requested in the lobby of the Powell County Sheriff’s Office. To obtain a copy, you must have a written request with date or date range of incident, names of person(s) involved, location of incident and type of incident.
A copy of this form can be found here.
Deputy name and case number are also requested if known. It can take up to 10 days to process your request. You will receive a redacted report, it will only have the name(s) the charge(s) and date.
We cannot release Juvenile information or sex crime information.
Evacuation Procedures – We strongly encourage residents to download and print this form.
Vehicle Crash Report – Use this form to self-report vehicle incidents