Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Mission: The Powell County Fire Council is a leadership group responsible for the planning oversight of all County initiatives to reduce fire hazards within the County. This group coordinates information and then advises the Board of Commissioners on the fire danger and recommends the appropriate fire restriction level.

Minor Open Burning Source Requirements

Burning permits required.  Burn Permits may be purchased online for $5.00 with a credit card at the Montana Burn Permit and Notification Service website. Montana Burn Permit and Notification service website. More information and burn permit purchases for $5.00 cash can be obtained at the Powell County Planning Office in Suite 101 of the Powell County Courthouse. They may be reached by telephone at 406-846-9795.

For information regarding burning, contact the Fire Chief of the jurisdiction of the burn or the one adjacent to the burn (see below). If further assistance is needed, please contact the Powell County Fire Warden or Deputy Fire Warden.

2016 Powell County Wildland Fire Annual Operating Plan

Deer Lodge Rural Fire District will meet the first Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at the Deer Lodge Fire Hall

Group Membership

Andy Scharf, County Fire Warden – 406-498-1400
William Baker, Deputy Fire Warden – 406-793-5746

This is an interactive map of all Powell County Fire Protection Boundaries. Big plot maps may be obtained from the Planning Office for $24.00 each. All GIS data can be requested from the Powell County GIS Analyst. Questions on the fire district boundaries can be addressed by the Fire Chief of each District or by the Clerk and Recorder. 

Map of Powell County Fire Districts

Fire Chief Master List

Map of Avon Volunteer Fire District Reece Price
Avon, MT 59713
Map of Ovando Fire District Tony Lapka
cell:  406-249-5100
Ovando, MT 59854
Map of Helmville Fire District Ty Daniels
PO Box 69
Helmville, MT 59843
Map of Race Track Valley Fire District Elmer McGhee
6959 S. Frontage Rd
Deer Lodge, MT 59722
Map of Elliston Fire District Ed Vanek
PO Box 65
Elliston, MT 59728email:
Map of Deer Lodge Fire District Brant Pierson, Fire Chief
Map of Garrison Fire District Jeff Pinkard, Fire Chief
Garrison, MT 59731Chuck Gilman (Burn Permits)
42 Westwood Rd
Garrison, MT 59731
Map of Rock Creek Cattle Co. Fire District Willie Johnson
Deer Lodge, MT 59722
Map of Rural Valley Fire District  

163 E Front St
Drummond, MT 59832


Anaconda Unit:
DNRC National Fire Plan
Mike Myers
Fire Supervisor
1300 Maguire Rd
Anaconda, MT 59711
Garrison Unit:
Johnathan Clark
406-846-1946 or 406-846-1965
Fire Forester
Grant-Kohrs Ranch, NHS  

406-846-2070 ext 221
226 Warren Ln
Deer Lodge, MT 59722

Back to top